jonathan wittwer

Jonathan Wittwer is a partner at the firm. Mr. Wittwer has extensive legal experience and has been lead counsel in numerous environmental, land use and real estate litigation matters.

He also serves as General Counsel to government agency clients, advising them on a host of legal issues from Brown Act and Public Records Act compliance, to planning, personnel and contract matters.

Mr. Wittwer has considerable expertise on matters of parcel legality under the Subdivision Map Act, and has trained the California Coastal Commission and its staff in this area of law.

Prior to co-founding the firm, Mr. Wittwer operated his own law practice from 1996 – 1999. Between 1975 and 1996 he was employed at the Santa Cruz County Counsel’s office, where he was Chief Deputy County Counsel from 1984 to 1996. Selected by California State Association of Counties (CSAC) to lead writing of Amicus Curiae Brief in:

Morehart v. County of Santa Barbara (1994) 7 Cal. 4th 725
Hansen Brothers Enterprises v. County of Nevada (1996) 12 Cal. 4th 533
Endangered Habitats League, Inc., et al. v. Riverside County Flood Control & Water Conservation District and Riverside County (1996)

Mr. Wittwer received his B.A. in Mathematics from the University of Southern California in 1967 on a full scholarship from NROTC. Mr. Wittwer was in the United States Navy from 1967-1968.

He received his J.D. in 1973 (Cum Laude) from the University of San Francisco, School of Law and was admitted to practice law in California in 1973.

Jonathan enjoys swimming, opera, and testing his wheelchair trail skills with his wife. He was a wheelchair basketball ambassador to China in 1987.

Member, Santa Cruz County Bar Association: 1973-Present
1986-1991: Board of Directors
1987: Editor of the Bar Briefs
1988: Secretary-Treasurer
1988: Delegate to State Bar Convention
1989: President-Elect
1990: President
1991: Past-President
Member, Assembly Local Government Committee Subdivision Map Act Advisory Group: 1993-1994

Honorable Roland K. Hall Public Service Award (1992)